Gail Ann Dorsey - Stop On By

Just in case any of y'all mistakenly thought that I invented any of this solo bass stuff, here's the first solo bass performance I ever saw. It's from 1986, on a brilliant UK music show called The Tube. 

Gail Ann Dorsey wasn't the first either, obviously, but this was the first time I'd ever seen anyone playing bass without any other instruments. She sounds incredible. 

She's in the UK next week, playing bass and singing with the sublimely awesome Jonatha Brooke - click here for tour dates. DON'T miss them.

4 responses
...nice....
Nice track! I'd not heard that one before. The simplicity of the groove is makes it's so great... it's all about the context, right? Reminded me of an article I wrote years ago about "The World's Greatest Bass Solo. www.laneonbass.com/basssolo.htm

Keep Thumpin'! ~~ Lane on Bass

Hey Lane! Haven't seen you online for ages! Great to know you're still out there doing it :) It's a lovely bit of playing, isn't it?
1 visitor upvoted this post.