Three Views Of A Solo

There are now three videos of our version of Love Is A Battlefield on Youtube. Two from house concerts, one in a club. The solo has evolved into a completely insane noise-fest, from it's origins as a mildly screwed up shred-fest... 

This was one of the first times (if not THE first time) we'd ever played it live - and certainly the first time I'd ever done the mad solo on it. I think I just got a little self-conscious at how 80s it was up to that point... 

The other two are closer together - first, at a house concert just outside London back in May, which features some fantom BVs from people in the audience... 

And then this one from a house concert in Milwaukee, in June (the music starts about a minute or so into this one, as Tracy left in the silliness at the beginning :) ) 

three slightly different versions of the tune - do you have a favourite? 
2 responses
Now THAT'S an original treatment for that song! Amazing what you can do with a turbo'd-up bass. I especially like the R2D2 gone haywire solo in the 3rd version. Is that the name of one of the effects you are using?

I knew I'd get a load of inspiration from stopping by to visit - thanks!! I'm currently inches (instead of miles) away from getting my new rigging in place, which should greatly expedite realization of all the ideas bouncing around in my head. Thanks for the "kick" - you two rock!!

Hi Brenda, glad you liked it :) Most of the weird effect stuff is done by manipulating the loop - the bass sound there doesn't change (though I have got a whammy pedal that means I can change the pitch wildly :) ) - the looper allows me to change the loop speed while I'm recording, and on play back, and to then scramble it. It gets pretty mad :)

Looking forward to hearing what you come up with as you get those ideas down...