Revisiting An Old Friend (Grace And Gratitude)

I'm heading towards making a new solo album, hopefully some time in the next 2 or 3 months. 

When I'm getting ready to record solo stuff, two things happen: 

Firstly, listening to music becomes FOOD - I start to watch my diet, and conspicuously listen to things I want to be influenced by - this time round, that'll mean a lot of the ECM stuff I've bought off EMusic over the last year, as well as the usual Joni Mitchell, Bruce Cockburn, Talk Talk, David Torn, Bill Frisell, Blue Nile... 

Secondly, I revisit my own older albums - I often have a fairly odd and wildly inaccurate memory of what they actually sound like, and the tunes that I continue to play live have often evolved a long way from where they started. So I go back, and listen, for perspective. Sometimes it's encouraging how far it feels I've come. Other times it's encouraging how good this old stuff still sounds. 

So right now, I'm listening to Grace And Gratitude - hand on heart, this is probably my favourite of my solo records. It was done with different tech to the set up I have now and there are lots of things I can do with a bass now that I couldn't do then, but there's a sound to it, a cohesion, a coming together of the narrative side of the record with the music that I'm immensely proud of. 

if you haven't got it, please download it. Pay what you like for it, but don't feel obliged to pay anything - I'm proud of it, and I'd rather you got to hear it and enjoy it that worried about money... 

http://music.stevelawson.net/album/grace-and-gratitude">Grace And Gratitude by Steve Lawson http://music.stevelawson.net/album/grace-and-gratitude">Grace And Gratitude by Steve Lawson
3 responses
'Grace and Gratitude' is a beautiful album. I can't wait to hear the new music that you are working on!
(I'm totally serious about this-not blowing smoke) Grace And Gratitude took my listening, and my relationship w/ music back to the time when I first became mystified by music. It really brought a lot of joy to me and helped to eradicate the jadedness that often hits career musicians. It was a huge influence on 'Symmetria'. G & G brought wonder and exitement back into my musical life. Thanks! I can't wait for your next record to come out!
John - thanks so much! Really glad you like it. I'm as intrigued as anyone to see how the new stuff turns out... :)

Steve - wow, am humbled to have had that kind of impact. It's especially heartening to be able to inspire music that I enjoy as much as I enjoy your music :)