Lobelia and I got lucky...

Every now and again music and opportunity line up. Doesn't happen often - live albums are rarely of the best night on the tour, unless the band is recording every night. Often, the tech and the tunes are on different calendars.

However, for Lobelia and I, the planets aligned when we played a house concert in Nebraska a couple of years ago - it wasn't actually in a 'house', it was in a recording studio, doubling up as a venue.

We played the best we'd ever played and got an awesome recording of it.

It's not on bandcamp yet, sadly, but will be soon - til then, here's one of the tracks on last.fm:

via last.fm

11 responses
This is absolutely THE most beautiful thing..... :)
Nice!
Linda - it still amazes me. We'd played it a few times, but it was still basically an improv around a very old song of Lo's - she had no idea what I was going to do with the looped vox, or what I was going to play. I LOVE the way the harmony shifts at the end... I hadn't remembered doing that til I listened to it yesterday :)
Beautiful track.
Very nice textures. It sounds like you had a real synergy as a performing duo and knew exactly which direction it was going - something that holds true in every great recording of a live group. Look forward to hearing the other live tracks.
thanks James! really glad you enjoyed it - you can hear the rest of the live EP on last.fm at http://www.last.fm/music/Steve+Lawson+and+Lobelia - but it'll be on bandcamp as soon as we can find a copy of the CD to rip - we sold out of them pretty quick!
Beautiful song. I'm knocked out by the synth-type sounds you can achieve with your bass setup. Wonderful.
awesome!
Oh my giddy aunt, this is insanely gorgeous. Very inspirational!
Gives me chills every time - the combination of amazing songs, sound and performance actually reached critical mass on this CD
1 visitor upvoted this post.