30 Days Of Music, Day 7 - A Song that Reminds Me Of a Certain Event.

My college years were really interesting. For much of my first year, I was a compete arse - just didn't deal all that well with moving away from home. My second year started in a shared house, but I moved back into Halls part way through they year. The bloke in the room next door was a fabulous artist called Keiran. He and spent loads of evenings fixing the world, none moreso than during the week we were snowed in (the snow then melted in a day and flooded the whole town, doing incredible damage). For that week, Keiran and I spent most of our time talking about big stuff - science, faith, doubt, politics, art, all in the way that only 20 years olds who want to change the world can - listening to music and occasionally making a foray out to the canteen where we were still being served food... (were the dinner staff snowed in too? How did they get there? Never did find that out...) 

Anyway, it was an amazing week, despite the snow. It was the first time I heard Consolidated, and we listened to Roger Water's Amused To Death a lot too. But the album that really sums it up for me is Dusk by The The - I've previously blogged about this as one of the albums that changed my life. Indeed it did, and it also soundtracked our snow-week perfectly. 

4 responses
Must have heard dusk around the same time you did. Totally dismissed it. Too rock , too much american influence, not enough jangly guitar some Bollocks like that. Album still reminds me of that time - flashing back to chatting to a lass who was trying to convince me it was best album ever - my response might be why we lost touch after that . :( Didn't get into the the till the next album. Can't even remember when i finally bought dusk and realised the prat i'd been.
Great call steve - always loved this band from uncertain smile onwards, i would love to use this music in one of my films....was a big infliuence for me when i was playing myself....can't remember of this is the album jonny marr played on?
Steve: my musical history is littered with albums or bands I dismissed only to discover just how stupid i was in missing out on them in the first place (part of me thinks this may still happen with Radiohead at some point, but as of now, I still can't see what all the fuss is about... :) )

Paul: Johnny Marr is on this album - plays the harmonica on this track too, I think. He was also on MindBomb, the one before it. Both incredible albums. :)

Thanks Steve....on reflection it sounds like his guitar playing on this too....i’ve got this album somewhere , will dig it out later , thanks for the reminder!