30 Days Of Music, Day 3 - A Song That Makes Me Happy.

Lots of music makes me happy. Hearing musicians play the music they love makes me very happy. Listening to my own music makes me happy, and grateful, thankful, etc... 

So I picked a song that makes me feel almost euphoric, for a whole host of reasons. 

I've said quite a few times that, along with Tony Benn and Miriam Margoyles, Billy Bragg is one of a handful of people who make me feel proud to be English - he represents our tradition of dissent that goes back hundreds of years, he's an honest mess of contradictions, an exceptional guitar player (the missing link between Bob Dylan and Joey Santiago) and has written endless songs that make me very happy indeed. I was even happier when he started talking balls about music and the internet - I love it when my heroes prove themselves flawed - but happier still when he modified his stance and started making lots of sense again, in opposition to the Digital Economy Act. A marvellous man. 

So 'Waiting For The Great Leap Forwards' sums up everything that's great about him - fab guitar hook, positivity and cynicism side-by-side, and about 80% of the lyrics in the song are things I'd be happy to wear on a T-shirt. The world is a better place because Billy Bragg is making music in it. Long may he continue. 

(as a footnote, one of the fun things he does with this song is update it periodically (and spontaneously) - click here for a version from Henry Rollins' TV show in the US.  
3 responses
is this national "post links to billy bragg songs" month or something? losing track of who posted what but last watched the henry rollins live clip only about a week back :-)
Billy's been back in the public eye with all the DEBill/BNP stuff - guess lots of people are remembering why he was awesome in the first place. I never forgot :)
...and the lyrics on the Rollins version are v. similar to the version he sang at Greenbelt :)