30 Days Of Music, Day 2 - My Least Favourite Song

These days I don't really have least favourite music. I don't get any pleasure out of hating music. I've got really good at filtering out bad music, and actually very rarely hear anything I don't like (there's a whole other blog post in that!) I'm far more likely to be disappointed by music than hate it - when someone makes a record that should've been full of promise but turns out to have been hijacked by whatever... 

 
So here's a song that when it came out sent me into utterly irrational insane rage whenever I heard it - I was 8 or 9, and I would scream at people for even singing it. Proper mental. 
 
It still sounds like risible shit today, but I'm not shouting while listening to this on youtube. Just giggling at the load of old toss that used to get to number one... :) 
 
8 responses
I also thought this was terrible as a child. However age has led me to embrace the super bad and now I think this is fantastic, in the most awful sense.
It's only Auld Lang Syne with some rather nifty key changes, what's not to like?
ooh.. shiny!

where does one even buy clothes that shiny? #want

The Birdy Song is worse... or Agadoo... or two Little Boys... or.... OK, I've got sit down and go through hellish memories for a while
Have to disagree with david the birdy song was good. Agadoo is a fantastic party tune ( guy who produced it is a real nice bloke too. ) Sometimes music is about communicating a message, or better communicting a feeling or a piece of your soul. Sometimes its about letting your hair down and having a dance and a laugh. Give me Agadoo over coldplay anyday. This isn't me on a wind up check my last fm profile. This is an on going battle against musical snobbery.
finally on my computer not the mobile. thanks for sharing that steve. one of those songs i don t think i've heard in 20 plus years yet somehow still randomly goes through my head (probably only every 6 months or so that i inexplicabilly find myself singing it) .and its going to be lodged there now for months. didnt have a telly growing up so think that is probably the first time i've seen the video and i dont think i ever even knew who it was by.
@SteveThackray - yup, it comes back around periodically, like a cold sore ;) Glad the nostalgia trip was a pleasant one for you!
seven tears
have flown into the river

seven tears
have run into the sea

I like it - but haven't always. It has a rich trash aesthetic about it.

Now I'm thinking about Midge Ure in a baseball shirt not in Ultravox but Slick - was it 'forever and ever'?